top of page
  • Writer's pictureankitbiswas2000

China launches mysterious Shiyan-20C satellite to orbit



On Friday (October 28), China launched a secret experimental satellite into space, continuing a busy month for the country.


The Shiyan-20C spacecraft launched on a Long March 2D rocket from Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China on Friday at 9:01 p.m. EDT (0101 GMT and 9:01 a.m. Beijing time on October 29).


According to NASASpaceflight.com(opens in new tab), quoting the China Aerospace Science Corporation, the 2,650-pound (1,200 kilogram) Shiyan-20C was successfully placed into an orbit around 435 miles (700 kilometer's) above Earth.




According to the state-run media agency Xinhua, "the satellite will be utilized mostly for in-orbit evaluation of new technologies, such as space environment monitoring."


The Shiyan satellites, whose name translates to "experiment," are frequently described in this ambiguous manner.


According to NASASpaceflight.com, the Shiyan constellation is a sizable one and now consists of 22 spacecraft, with Shiyan-20C in orbit. The satellites probably carry out a variety of tasks and test various new technology.



This month, China has launched six orbital missions, including one that received a lot of attention today (Oct. 31).


The Mengtian module was just sent into space on a Long March 5B rocket. The third and final component of China's T-shaped Tiangong space station is called Mengtian. The completion of Tiangong's assembly phase and the start of full operations for the orbital outpost will be signalled by its arrival, which is anticipated later this evening.


Source Credit : Click here...

5 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page